About the ANC

Your ANC is the level of District government closest to the people. There are almost 300 Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners in the District, each representing about 2,000 DC residents. Elections for ANC Commissioners are non-partisan, held in November of even-numbered years as part of the regular General Election ballot in the District. Each term for an ANC Commissioner is two years long.

The ANCs are not part of either the legislative or executive branch of government in the District but are independent and act solely on the basis of Commission votes taken at regular public meetings.

The primary role of the ANC is to represent the neighborhood on key decisions being made by the city and around the community and to advise District agencies or federal agencies on policy and program issues that affect residents and the Commission area. DC law states that each Advisory Neighborhood Commission may advise the District government on “all proposed matters of District government policy including, but not limited to, decisions regarding planning, streets, recreation, social services programs, education, health, safety, budget, and sanitation which affect that Commission area.” See more information on the role of the ANC.

ANC 3B consists of five Commissioners who each serve a Single Member District comprised of a portion of the neighborhoods of Glover Park and Cathedral Heights.  ANC 3B generally holds public meetings once a month (except August), usually at 7 PM on the second Thursday of the month, at the Stoddert Elementary School and Glover Park Recreation Center at 4001 Calvert Street NW, when in-person meetings can be held there. The schedule of meeting dates is published at the beginning of each calendar year and any changes are announced at least a week in advance, along with the location and proposed agenda. Later adjustments in the plans  are announced as soon as the information is known.

The five current Commissioners, serving a two-year term lasting from Jan. 1, 2021 – Dec. 31, 2022, are Brian Turmail (Chair), Jackie Blumenthal (Vice-Chair), Ann Mladinov (Secretary), Elizabeth Elson (Treasurer), and Melissa Lane (Media and Communications).  See more information about the Commissioners.